Bake with Me! – Pink! Cupcakes

_MG_4904.jpg

So my husband suggested I make him something sweet to eat, particularly cupcakes. We both came up with the idea that I make them pink in honor of having our new daughter…like a fun celebration treat.

I used to work as a pastry chef for a small cafe during college. I baked everything from scratch..from cupcakes, homemade granola bars, lemon bars, cakes, etc.. so I love baking! I’m actually good at baking and my husband is better at cooking. I like to think that balances us out! 🙂

_MG_4977.jpg

I made a strawberry cupcakes and used two recipes from my favorite Cupcake book! There wasn’t a specific recipe for Strawberry so I made some modifications. Below is the recipe! Enjoy!

BATTER –

1 1/4 cups cake flour
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup unsalted butter
1 cup sugar
2 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 cup whole milk
1 cup strawberries – chopped very small

Start out by turning your oven on. Preheat it to 350 degrees. Line 12 muffin tin cups with paper cupcake liners. Sift the cake flour, baking powder and salt into a medium sized bowl and set aside. ( this mixture will go in last ) In a large bowl, using an electric mixer on medium speed, beat the butter and sugar until it becomes smooth. Add your eggs one at a time and then add in the vanilla. On low speed, add in your mixture of the flour and make sure to add it in slowly so it becomes fully mixed. Then you will want to add in your milk in two additions. Last, you will add in your strawberries…I like to mix them in by hand so they still stay a bit chunky.

Then you will want to fill each paper liner with the batter. I like to use an ice cream scooper to do this. You will want to fill 1/4 cup batter. Then you bake for 22 minutes or until firm. Stick a toothpick or a fork in it to make sure no batter sticks. Afterwards, you will want to cool them for 10 minutes before applying the frosting.

_MG_4915

FROSTING – 

1/2 cup unsalted butter
3 cups powder sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
3 – 4 tablespoons whole milk
3 tablespoons colored sugar ( pink ) OR add food coloring which I did

In a large bowl, using an electric mixer on low speed, beat the butter, powdered sugar, and vanilla together with three tablespoons milk, then add one tablespoon more of milk if needed. You want to make sure it is creamy! Afterwards this is where you would add food coloring if you want to. If not, use a small spatula and spread about 2 1/2 tablespoon of frosting per cupcake. Afterwards you can sprinkle them with colored sugar of your choice.

_MG_4909

I love to serve cupcakes with a nice cup of tea or coffee! Hope you all enjoy!

— N.J.

db142560-3c77-41bd-8bfa-1fbfa1a2caaa

One thought on “Bake with Me! – Pink! Cupcakes

Leave a Reply

